🐈
» Groups » Designers & Creatives » Forum » Re: How to get my first order?
Page options
kashaan-khawaja
Community Member

How to get my first order?

Hi

I am new to upwork and I have been submitting proposals to and fro but I am still waiting for someone to buy from me.

I don't see what is it that is not right so I have decided to ask others for their advice on landing that first order, here on upwork.

My niche(s) are Animation, Script Writing, and Graphic Design.

7 REPLIES 7
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Hi, 

your profile is very sparse. Tell people more about yourself and how you can specifically help them. And keep it absolutely, 100% error free! Spacing and capitalization is not always correct, as far as I can tell. 

HI I am new here join this platform , I am waiting for job but still not receive any single order please tell what can I do for getting orders.

mthornton-cpc
Community Member

You don't need to tell people in your profile overview that you're new to freelancing. If you're capable of doing the work you're selling that's what counts. Saying you're new lets people know they're taking a chance on you if they hire you. 

spencer_c
Community Member

It might be the cover letter in your proposals. I'm no expert but I usually say something like 

"Hello, my name is Spencer and I have been doing retouching and photo-manipulation for 7 years professionally. I would love to help you with your product images! I understand the requirements for Amazon product images and have attached a couple before-and-after images for you to take a look at. I'm fast, detailed, and experienced. If everything sounds good and you like what I do then let's talk details. I hope to hear from you soon!

Sincerely,

Spencer C."

Basically only highlight good things about yourself, how you can help with their specific needs, and be nice and friendly. No one needs to know you are new to freelancing, if you have the skills to back you up then you can take any job.