🐈
» Groups » Designers & Creatives » Forum » Re: Is my hourly rate too high?
Page options
fpetreski
Community Member

Is my hourly rate too high?

I am a graphic designer with more than 10 years of experience, 3 years active on Upwork and more than 3000 hours worked and over $60k earned. I would say my profile isn't too bad but I have never explored the teritory over $25/hour which I think its too low for my field but I haven't got the guts to do it. I do think I have the skills to enter that teritory (at least you can judge that too), but I'd like to ask you if its reasonable and is there enough clients that would pay the rate of $40 + an hour. Thanks!

3 REPLIES 3
petra_r
Community Member

Filip P wrote:

I am a graphic designer with more than 10 years of experience, 3 years active on Upwork and more than 3000 hours worked and over $60k earned. I would say my profile isn't too bad but I have never explored the teritory over $25/hour which I think its too low for my field but I haven't got the guts to do it. I do think I have the skills to enter that teritory (at least you can judge that too), but I'd like to ask you if its reasonable and is there enough clients that would pay the rate of $40 + an hour. Thanks!

It is impossible to say without seeing your profile and knowing whether you win lots of work at your current rate.

An increase from under $ 25 to $ 40 per hour in a single step is a bad idea anyway, increases are generally better digested by the market if done in sensible increments and over time.

It also helps to find your sweet spot.

kbadeau
Community Member