🐈
» Groups » Designers & Creatives » Forum » Question about rates and getting projects
Page options
zsummers
Community Member

Question about rates and getting projects

Afternoon everyone. I am new to Upwork. I'm a graphic designer, and I'm curious to see how all of you decided your rates, and if you're getting projects that are fair rates for the hourse worked. I see a lot of jobs going up on the job board with estimated budgets of $20. Yet I see profiles with hourly rates set at $75, but I don't see those larger budgeted jobs listed. Do any of you do these smaller budgeted jobs to boost your job success rate for when the larger ones come along? Or did any of you just set your rate, and let people invite you to interview? I would appreciate any advice. Thanks again. 

6 REPLIES 6
barada00
Community Member

Zack, you should use an actual photo of yourself if you don't want a hold on your account.

To answer your question, I shall ask how good are you, how many years of experience you have, how much you want to earn, how much time you have...

If you are someone who is experienced and very good in a very small niche you can ask a high rate. If your specialty is tracing logos to vector then you should compete with lots of people who will do the job for very low rates. If you have incredibly good work samples from the past and use them in your portfolio you can ask for a high rate. If you have them and don't put them on your portfolio you can ask but no client will accept.