🐈
» Groups » Designers & Creatives » Forum » Re: Un ethical job posting
Page options
jules_durham
Community Member

Un ethical job posting

Hi all,

I'm new to Upwork, but was pretty horrified to come across a job posting... "Image manipulator required, to make people look fatter and thinner, before and after images for a weight loss brand"

How is this possible? Is there no vetting of jobs posted?

14 REPLIES 14
luce-neidert
Community Member

Hi Julian,

All you have to do is flag the offer (click on the green flag on the job offer) and Upwork will see what it should do about it. 

My specialty is to flag jobs where someone wants an article to be "rewritten", or to write a review on Amazon or on other site... 

There are all sort of clients here, and some don't seem to have the same ethics as you and me.

prestonhunter
Community Member

Julian, this does not appear to violate any Upwork TOS.

It would therefore be wrong for you to flag it or complain about it.

If a job violates your own personal beliefs, then don't apply for it. But your own personal beliefs are not a reason for removing job postings.

Preston, that's why I use the term unethical. I may not violate the TOS, but it's still wrong! It's called the 'grey' area, not everything is black and white.

I think you'll find that the majority would feel this is unacceptable.

Yes. I agree.

So it is legitimate to discuss this topic in the Forum. It is fine to suggest that Upwork should add a new prohibition, such as a prohibition against photo manipulation of people in specific circumstances... Or a prohibition against jobs that involve advertising alcohol. Or pork. There are many potential new prohibitions.