🐈
» Groups » Designers & Creatives » Forum » Re: Voiceovers - be wary of postings asking f...
Page options
jdeforest
Community Member

Voiceovers - be wary of postings asking for sample of their script?

Hi all,

I'm new to the site. I've noticed the odd job posting for voiceover work that asks for each applicant to include an audio sample of you reading a portion of the client's script. This struck me as odd. I gladly offer to send a client a sample of anything other than their script, but anything else would feel as though I've already started the job for free.

I'm sure we're all here to get paid for our skills. Has anyone had their work stolen, for lack of a better word, and am I wrong in being wary about this?

Thanks for any input.

5 REPLIES 5
tgstudio
Community Member

You have every right to be wary of a request like that. More than likely they are trying to get their project done for free.

I personally have not had my work stolen from me but I have been a freelancer for a very long time. I do not send free samples. If a potential client wants a specific sample they would need to pay me for my time. 

pammysue
Community Member

If you believe it might help secure the job, include an excerpt of their script, therefore it is incomplete and not usable. Also, you might consider adding another voice track into the recording background such as "This is a demo by....." that won't terribly distract from your work. An above board client won't mind and a dishonest client cannot get your work for free. 

Best of luck!

cashmorevoice
Community Member