🐈
» Groups » Designers & Creatives » Forum » What kind of file should I be receiving for v...
Page options
Community Member

What kind of file should I be receiving for vector artwork?

Hi, I am very new to upwork and hiring for freelance.

Recently, I submitted a project request for original artwork of a certain design to be printed on T-shirts etc.

In my project description, I ask for vector file (I actually just copied what other people posted as their project description, LOL).

My freelance Designer gave me a .ai file (Adobe Illustrator), though I don't use AI, I have Photoshop.

Can you open .ai in Photoshop without losing quality?

At the end of the project, what kind of file type/s should you be getting? It shouldn't be just some png or jpg right?

Thanks in advance

15 REPLIES 15
mariawicz5
Community Member

For one, you shouldn't just be copy/pasting other people's posts without doing some research into your specific needs. This can create issues for both you and your freelancer.

An .ai file is a vector file that is opened with Adobe Illustrator. I do not suggest opening this file in PS since PS is a raster program and Illustrator is a vector program. 

You can also reuqest .eps files which are vector files that work for t-shirt printing. If you're printing on t-shirts, vector is the best since it doesn't lose resolution.

Hi Maria,

So if I need to adjust the image width and height to fit my product, I will need Adobe Illustrator? 

Photoshop wont work?

mtngigi
Community Member

@Wei Kiang T wrote:

Hi Maria,

So if I need to adjust the image width and height to fit my product, I will need Adobe Illustrator? 

Photoshop wont work?

What you can do is specify to whomever is producing your t-shirts the size/dimensions you want to see the artwork to be. The printer will be able to accomplish that using your supplied vector file.

And no, Photoshop won't work.

Community Member