Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Is it new Work diary?

joechiu
Ace Contributor
Joseph C Member Since: Jan 1, 2018
11 of 54

In general, these changes were made to modernize and optimize the Work Diary page so that it could be used from any type of device

 Breaking user experience in the name of  making the user interface look (but not perform) well is awful.   Could we at least have the old way made available while you guys are tweaking and figuring out what you want to do to "modernize" with the new design please?

mbusel
Ace Contributor
Maxim B Member Since: Dec 25, 2014
12 of 54

Hello Upwork,

Yesterday, I discovered that new Work Diary looks like the following. From my point of view, it is really bad idea, because it is obvious that day consists of hours and each hour consists of six 10-minutes sections.  The new look is a mess of 10-minutes screenshots.

wd.jpg

 

Is it possible to switch that to old look?
owd.png

 

Best regards,

Maxim

pradeephele
Moderator
Pradeep H Moderator Member Since: Jan 11, 2021
13 of 54

Hello Maxim,

 

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We will pass this along to the appropriate team for review. If you have other thoughts you wish to share, please feel free to do so in the community forum discussion here

 

Thank you.

Pradeep

Untitled
brevon
Active Member
Pavla H Member Since: Jul 28, 2018
14 of 54

Hi,

 

I appreciate the efforts but I do not understand why Uprwork always jumps into revamps without asking among users first which features we find most handy, which functionalities we most depend on, how we use the tools and what we consider troublesome, before such major revamps are made. I cannot appreciate nice graphic redesign if it takes away usability and practicability. Long time issue with UW is you guys take a top down approach that proved so many times disasterous - especially with the UW app, but now also WD and that instead of seeking our opinions actively and making it easy to share them, you just throw something out and then wait for us to give you all this feedback, which means I am now donating you 40 minutes of my time I could have been working, trying to sum up all you should have gathered another way a long time before the changes were drafted. Obviously, this doesn't make anyone very happy.

 

I see so many newly introduced issues with the new redesign. The most serious include dropdown menu of billing codes when editing billing codes from WD website and the overview of my working sessions on WD, see details below.

 

Billing codes: my contract's nature results in dozens (nearing hundred) codes avaliable in the drop-down menu to choose from. Whenever I need to edit a segment, I need to do more steps than before to be able to do so. And worst of all, I can no longer SEARCH through the codes using cmd/ctrl+F, which is a must for such a long list. Most of the codes are very hard to distinguish, so the safest way is to copy them from the job I am working on and using the search to find the particular code in the drop-down list. Now this is no longer possible: whenever I click on the drop-down menu and then hit cmd+F, the dropdown menu collapses again! So, the only way to edit the code is MANUALLY scroll through those dozens oftentimes very similar, hard to read and mostly unmemorable codes to find the exact match for the one I need. This makes what used to be a few second's task something that takes precious minutes!

 

- compact overview of segments I worked in one sitting - I used to have a very clear visual overview of how many breaks there are in my day and how long were my segments I worked at one sitting. Now my billed time is broken into groups based on billing codes and not on the segments worked at one go. Well, this grouping could very well be added to the Reports overview, but in WD it makes no sense.

 

- editing of individual segments: very complicated!

1) I need to remember that the box is invisible, so I randomly run over the space below windows of tracked time until the box appears.

2) I click it

3) I scroll to the top of the website and click on Edit

4) I click on the dropdown menu

5) I search manually for the code I wish to use

6) I click save

 

Are you sure this couldn' be done in fewer steps and with the possibility to just start typing the first letters so that the menu would automatically filter the codes based on what I start typing?

 

- the little screenshots in WD - well, they are so tiny that they do not serve any purpose like that. It would make much more sense to offer the two views as before: one just list with clear overview of segments based on time, not codes, and another view with large thumbnails that would actually pertain some details so that they were of any use and these could be grouped based on codes as long as we could also have the time-based grouping.

 

Thanks for considering all the above, most of which is crucial for uninterrupted workflow.

kobor
Ace Contributor
Sandor-Csaba M Member Since: Apr 26, 2011
15 of 54

Can we get back the old one right now? I'd pay for it. Oh, wait, i already do it.

I have 6 or 7 contract with the same title, how i'm supposed to know which is picked, if you don't show the client name?

Plus its really horrible, why change something what works ?

otrrtw
Active Member
John P Member Since: Aug 2, 2016
16 of 54

The Work Diary display too broken up and its hard to see if you have gaps in your time.  The Previous display was great.   You could see all your time layed out in single 1hours lines.  I do a lot of video meeting so there I have a lot of time gaps becuase I dont not have any key strokes, so I have to enter manual time.   The manual time drop down now simply removes the times from the list that have already been tracked.  Before you could see all but the time tracked was marked in grey and not accessable.  Both of these fetures of ceated a clean visual and easy user experience.  The new design is complicated to read and unorganized.  Checking to make sure I have tracked time correctly is much harder and requires a much more detailed review.  Please go back to the old display.  

joechiu
Ace Contributor
Joseph C Member Since: Jan 1, 2018
17 of 54

Please give us an option to change how to select the project.

I carry about 10 active clients/projects.  Unfortunately, there is a significant tendency for my clients to use very similar sounding names for their listings and I cannot tell them apart anymore:

 

The drop-down looks something like:

 

Bake Birthday cake
Bake a special cake
Bake and Decorate Wedding Cake
Bake and decorate a cake
Baker
Baking specialist
Cake decorator
Decorate a cake
Make an awesome cake for an event
Select cake decorations

 

What is worse is that the dropdowns truncate the description so that it looks more like

Bake Birthday ca
Bake a special c
Bake and Decorat
Bake and decorat
Baker
Baking specialis
Cake decorator
Decorate a cake
Make an awesome
Select cake deco

 

I absolutely cannot use this.  I have already found myself logging time to the wrong project.

 

Please make this configurable so that I can see the client name first, or allow us to attach a nickname (job code) to projects!

leticia_roser
Active Member
Leticia R Member Since: Dec 29, 2016
18 of 54
Spoiler
 

I almost never get involved in these community forums, but please, we 100% need the client name on the work diary. Clients all tend to name their projects with generic descriptors like "analysis and report" so the names all look the same - it makes it very difficult to find the right job you want to charge hours to without the client name!

firescue17
Community Guru
Steve L Member Since: May 5, 2015
19 of 54

It sucks.

 

It's a space-wasting, screen gobbling monster.

 

And why?! At what point has the Community clamored outrageously for an[other] overhaul to a feature that was working perfectly fine as intended?!

 

Stop messing with stuff.

 

In closing, thank you for locking the Announcements thread. ETA please disregard this last sentence. I now see the announcement about changes to the forums.

tmcdos
Active Member
Ivaylo G Member Since: Oct 30, 2016
20 of 54

I totally agree with all the other opinions above.

In addition, the timezone selector is hidden behind a clueless icon.

And what is worse - it still (already 5 or 6 years) defaults to UTC and 12-hour format.

 

Unless I live in the United Kingdom, it is 100% certain that I want to use my local timezone instead of UTC. Why is it so difficult and takes years to make the "Mine" option default ?

 

Even more - Upwork already knows my country and even my town from my profile. It is super easy (and quite user-friendly) to default to the time format that is official in my country (which in my case is 24-hour) instead of always using the 12-hour format.

 

TOP KUDOED MEMBERS