I have some additional questions about this program.
So I recently used the promo for the first time. I brought a client over and he hired me. I did not have to log work until the next day, so I sent an email to Upwork requesting to remove the service fee. Kudos to them - they replied within an hour and said that the fee had been removed. (Great!)
However, when I went to log time the next day, I saw that the removal of the service fee had caused 2 contracts with the same client to be created, each with its own ID. One of the contracts was showing as ended (with no money exchanged), and appears under both my Reports and the All Contracts list.
Obviously I was a bit concerned about the no-money contract affecting my JSS, and this is the reply I got from CS:
..."the reason for getting 2 contract IDs was because there was a service fee change on the contract. However, you need not to worry as these are not treated as separate contracts. It appears that the service fee has been changed and applied to the new contract as it was under Bring Your Own Client program and so the service has been changed to 0% and by design, the original contract will be closed."
I guess that's reassuring, but I have a few questions that I hope a moderator can clarify:
1. First, is it confirmed that the creation of these 2 contracts (one without money exchanged) won't affect JSS?
2. What would have happened if I had logged hours on the initial contract before the 0% service fee was applied / before the contract was split? Would those hours automatically be transferred to the active contract? Or would the client be charged for those pre-0% service fee hours under a separate contract?
(I tried to ask this question to CS, but they clearly misunderstood, so I thought it would be better to ask here.)
3. Does this split contract thing for BYoC happen on fixed-price jobs too? (The one this happened on is an hourly contract.)
4. My client hasn't hired anyone else on the site, but I notice that now on his profile it says "2 hires, 1 active." Is this a result of that split contract thing?
According to the ticket, the 2 contracts are not treated as separate contracts which means it is considered as 1 contract (No need to worry about the no earning aspect that may affect your JSS). If you were charged service fee for the hours from the old contract, we will refund those if it does qualify for adjustment of your BYOC discount. Applying 0% fee to your contracts works the same regardless of the payment method. The 2 contracts may have caused the last question you asked.
I brought my client to Upwork using the link from the e-mail. He created the contract and I sent ID to Upwork to remove service fee and it was removed. All was OK and after the job was completed we finished contract successfully, no fees taken.
Now, this same client created the new contract and I see 10% fee in the offer. Does this mean that I need to send email to Upwork about every new contract with this client to remove service fee? Or this will be done automatically?
Unfortunately, Upwork support desk does no work now and does not allow to create tickets.
The fee should be automatically applied to all new contract with this client. I checked and see you do have access to different support options but will ask our team to follow up with you directly to review and make the service fee adjustment. We apologize for the inconvenience.
The fee should be automatically applied to all new contract with this client. Please send me a PM with your contracts ID and our team will investigate this further, thank you.