cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: 0% fee when you bring your own client

Ancuta P Member Since: Aug 8, 2016
1 of 258

Hello,

In May 2017 I received a message from Upwork with a special promotion with 0% fee when I bring my own client to Upwork (I am a Top rated freelancer) and I received an invitation linked to send it to my client for register and activate this 0% fee. A few days ago, I send it to my client and he registered and started a Upwork contract and now, when the contracted is just ended I realized that I have standard 20% fee. What to do in this situation? It's obvious that I was not intended to bring my client to pay 20% to Upwork.

Thank you!

Community Manager
Lena E Community Manager Member Since: Apr 7, 2015
BEST ANSWER
2 of 258

Hi Ancuta,

Open a ticket with Customer Support and provide them with the contract ID. As long as the client was not registered on Upwork in the past, the 0% fee should apply and they can update the fee. 

Untitled
Robin B Member Since: Sep 3, 2017
3 of 258

I'm newer to Upwork. Is the option to bring your clients to Upwork for 0% fees available to everyone? If so, how can I find more information? 

I would love to link my website directly to Upwork if an option like that is available. 

Thanks!

Robin

Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
4 of 258

It's only for TR and they can't have an account already. I got screwed out of 20% fees when I brought someone over because they didn't have a PayPal account but they had an Upwork account already, so I thought I was getting 0% fees and she wound up getting her partner with an account to invite/pay me. Annoy.

Rachel L Member Since: Mar 13, 2017
5 of 258

Hello,

I am top rated and received an invitation or other email from Upwork about bringing my own clients to Upwork with no fee. I'm not sure if the program is still going on.

Please let me know if I can do this and how to bring my clients on to Upwork.

Thank you,

Rachel