🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » 1099-misc
Page options
f1c8ef54
Community Member

1099-misc

I don't understand why Upwork doesn't send a 1099-MISC at the end of the year. Is there a reason? They asked for my SSN and a W-9, but don't send 1099? If they don't send me a 1099, are they still reporting the income to the IRS?

There is like a 100% chance my income won't match to the penny what they report if I'm not getting 1099. 

I don't qualify for a 1099-K per their website.

9 REPLIES 9
BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Erika,

If you did not receive a 1099-K or 1099-MISC form from us (we only send it when certain IRS criteria is met), we can issue you one upon request. Please contact our support team by clicking Get Help at the bottom of this page.

Thank you!

~ Bojan
Upwork
f1c8ef54
Community Member

I earned more than $600 this year (this is my first year on Upwork) and should be getting a 1099-misc but according to that link it says Upwork is not sending one. I want to know why.

I didn't take more than 250 transactions this year (I only worked for 35 weeks) and so I don't qualify for a 1099-k.

BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Erika,

You can check this Lena's announcement for more information that might address your concerns.

Thank you!

~ Bojan
Upwork
tlbp
Community Member

The short answer is that Upwork isn't legally required to send the 1099 Misc so they don't. (I don't know exactly why. Perhaps because Upwork isn't the "employer/payor" of the $600 but just serves as a conduit?)

You can still report your earnings. If you are using a self-serve tax application, just indicate that you had income and didn't receive a 1099 and the program should walk you through how to disclose the income. I believe you'll use the Schedule C to report the income and you'll need to fill out another form for your self-employment taxes.