🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » 15 proposals, no job yet, what am I doing wro...
Page options
benhp
Community Member

15 proposals, no job yet, what am I doing wrong?

Greetings Upwork Community,

I'm a new member to Upwork and this will be my first post.  To put things in perspective, I'm just breaking into the freelance writing industry but it's not something that I just decided out of the blue that maybe I should give writing a chance.  I've been an avid writer my entire life but I've never actually had anything published.  It's always been a passion of mine but it hasn't been until lately that I've decided to turn that passion into a career.  I understand that it's going to take time to get myself built up and will face plenty of rejection but at the moment, I have submitted 15 proposals and have not heard back on a single one.  Is there something I'm doing wrong is what I keep asking myself.  All of my proposals are for entry-level job offers and either agreeing to a fixed price or making sure not to set my rates too high.  I think that my cover letters are solid when submitting my proposals so I'm just sort of lost trying to understand why not even 1 out of the 15 proposals was accepted.  Any insight on this situation would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks ahead of time for those taking the time to give some valuable feedback

23 REPLIES 23
michael_skaggs
Community Member

That's just the name of the game, unfortunately. It's just like applying for any other job in that you could go weeks or even months with nothing. All you can do is make sure your portfolio is solid, wow them with your proposals, make sure your rates are in line with others in your area with your level of experience, and then keep at it.

Freelancing can be a pretty cut-throat way to go depending on your field. But one thing you don't ever want to do is lower your rates just to get jobs. Always charge what you're worth, because the race to the bottom hurts everyone.

petra_r
Community Member