🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » A Stubborn Client Is Driving Me Crazy
Page options
alexproactive
Community Member

A Stubborn Client Is Driving Me Crazy

Hi Upwork Community,

I'm a Project Manager, started as a VA. Yesterday I accomplished 1 year as a Top Rated (100%) freelancer. I am so proud to be part of this community, I can't even begin to describe it.

About 3 months ago I found a client for a long-term / 40 hours per week job. She was looking for a Bilingual VA to help her with upcoming personal tasks, and to develop systems for her to have better control of her company. This is a printing company that makes over 1M a year, and it's been active since 17 years ago.  Around 30 clients and orders a week. She runs the company only with a Production's Manager and a Designer. With an office in FL.

Things started to get messy when the Operations Manager quitted. Since we started she told me his performance wasn't good, that she wanted to fire him but she didn't have options. She was quite stubborn from the start, quite perfectionist, but really, really disorganized. When she tried to delegate a responsability to me she gambled around 100 things without getting to the point. Almost every call I had to led, but those took up to 4 hours each.

Since the company was a mess and there was simply not a single system that worked, I offered help developing a Business Management system. We used Pipedrive, and I managed to set everything as automatic as I could. I did this in a weekend, never had the time to really review it, because the big problem with this client is that she throws tons of ideas she has at you, and you HAVE to catch them all up and deliver them on time. This is totally ok for me, as long as i'm paid what I deserve, and specially if the environment is professional. Both weren't quite true.