cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A client of mine edited/added milestones to the contract after we'd already agreed upon it.

holymell
Community Guru
Melissa C Member Since: Jul 22, 2017
1 of 22

Hello!

I'm a bit new here, so please forgive any errors I may make within this post.

So far, I love Upwork. I love having the opportunity to meet/work with new people, and hopefully provide my clients a valuable service. I've had a wonderful time utilizing the platform.

I just have a question about one thing:

Is it typical for a client to edit and add milestones and break the payments up halfway through the project?

I just had a client do this, and it confused me a bit.

The original contract contained three milestones. Halfway through the project, my client added another. Then, once I had completed the milestones from the original contract, the client edited them to add another one that included a revision of the entire project (in this case, I am an editor and he had given me his manuscript to edit). No extra money was added- he had just broken up the payments into smaller increments.

I was just wondering if this is typical, because if so, it seems that extra work can easily be added without paying the freelancer any extra money. 

Of course I'm going to do what he's asked of me. I want to ensure that he's happy with the final product, but all of this was done for $100. I just want to know if you might have any tips for me as to how I can prepare for this type of thing in the future.

Thank you for reading. I appreciate it!

lysis10
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
BEST ANSWER
2 of 22

Why would you do whatever he wants if he's adding milestones that weren't a part of the original deal? Did you tell him how much the new milestone would cost? He needs to fund it first. 

View solution in original post

holymell
Community Guru
3 of 22

Thanks for the reply. I really appreciate it.