🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: A fraud client
Page options
yasmin-yassin
Community Member

A fraud client

My name is Yasmin.
I am a translator on Upwork. Yesterday I applied for job after I read the job description. Regarding the job description the word count is 4499 and the budget is $200. The client mentioned in the end of the job description "please send me your rate" I send already my rate per word $0.05 to him. When he send me the offer i found out that increase the budget and become $225 so that I accepted the offer and every thing is fine. Then the client told me the word count is more than 4500 words and he will pay the added money as a bonus at the end of project. I doubted in this and I asked him that tell me the real number of words and clarify this matter. Because the translation will be done on his translation platform and i can't count the number of words in it. He said me that the word count is 4500 but that is not real. I didn't want to accuse him of fraud therefore i tried to copy the words and paste in word document to know the real number and found that is more than 11,000 words although i couldn't copy and past all the words. I apologized to him for this project. Then he send me a message saying that the word count is 11,000 in one tab only -the project is divided into 5 tabs- but the others tabs include more than 7,000 words. So my question is i would want to end the contract and don't deal with this client. Will this action affect badly on my job success or on my upwork account? and if you have any suggestion please let me know.
Many thanks,
Yasmin

14 REPLIES 14
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "Then the client told me the word count is more than 4500 words and he will pay the added money as a bonus at the end of project."

I'm not sure where you are from. But it sounds like you already know this is bozo speak for "I will not pay you."

This client is a total waste of your time.

I agree that you should do NO more work on this project.