🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: A rare situation about restricted countri...
Page options
shamsahmed1
Community Member

A rare situation about restricted countries

Hello!

I was looking at help center's articles and I encountered with this section:

Federal Law restricts Upwork from conducting business with individuals and entities based in certain countries. Businesses or individuals in the following countries are not permitted to register for accounts or utilize our platform: Iran, North Korea, Syria, Crimea, Cuba, Individual nationals of Cuba, Any other country restricted by law (this changes occasionally)

My passport is issued by one of these countries, however, I'm not living in my home country and I'm a student in Canada with a valid student visa and study permit.

I'm wondering that do I'm allowed to work at Upwork? I searched through all the community's topics, it seems nobody has asked it before.

Thanks. 

5 REPLIES 5
prestonhunter
Community Member

Ahmed:

Upwork places no restrictions on users based on where they were born.

If you are living in Canada and legally allowed to work on Upwork based on Canadian law, then you are welcome to use Upwork as a freelancer or client regardless of where you were born.

If a person (not you, of course - I'm talking about a hypothetical person) said that they live in Canda and have "a valid student visa and study permit," then I might wonder if they are legally allowed to work on Upwork or do any kind of paid work. But that is not for me to decide, as I am not a Canadian official.

Thanks for your answer.

Just for others who may reach to this topic, student permit in Canada allows you to work off-campus max 20 hours per week.

However, I was wondering what if I spend a lot of time at UpWork, and someday they ask me to verify my identity. The Visa doesn't include a photo and the only valid ID, that I have, is the passport which is issued by a restricted country, then they simply ban me!