🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: A scam from a company called Round the Cl...
Page options
shruthi-ramesh
Community Member

A scam from a company called Edited

I wanted to get some guidance from the community. After getting EAD, I used Upwork.com for sending job proposals. I got an offer from a company called "Round The Clock". After they contacted me on UpWork, their job notification got deleted. Later, I got in touch with them over Google Hangouts and went through an interview. I ended up providing my state ID copy, personal information, educational details and employment history. I also signed an employment letter. However, after some more chatting, I could sense that this is a scam as they were asking me to purchase multiple stuff from some vendors. And hence we decided not to proceed. 
However, I am concerned whether all the information I have given can be misused. Would you be able to guide us on what to do ? I am new to US and not aware of anybody with a legal background.

Kindly advise us if some action is required from our side in addition to deciding not to proceed with this project. 
7 REPLIES 7
BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Shruthi,

I'm sorry to hear about your experience. I've checked and the job you're referring to has been taken down because it was in violation of Upwork TOS and action has been taken on the client account. 

Please, check this help article for more information on how to use the flag option found on each job post or message to report any suspicious or inappropriate content. Also, check out this post for more tips on how to avoid questionable jobs.