Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A test they say ?!

hibaz1
Wahiba A Member Since: Dec 25, 2020
1 of 21

Hi guys,

What is it with clients wanting you to start working on their project before awarding you the job ?

How can someone ask you to send a project simple or a test as they say, while a test in my case which is market research, means that I will spend time and once I start I will delever a whole work logically ?!

I really don't get it ... Smiley Sad

kam_andru
Community Leader
Kamarudheen C Member Since: Jan 16, 2021
2 of 21

Exactly, I do see few job posts the same as that, as I'm a graphic designer, I will send my previous works to them, that will be no use for them, but in your case, that is not possible as every research is useful for your future projects.

hibaz1
3 of 21

Most of my researches are confidential, it is not really an area where we can test things, because even if I deliver an incomplete research, the client can ask me for more deep details

kinector
Community Guru
Mikko R Member Since: Dec 26, 2015
BEST ANSWER
4 of 21

Yes, those are mostly scammers. Asking for free work is against the ToS and there is guidance on how to run test projects: make a small assignment and pay for it. Then expand the work with another bigger project.

You can flag them and let the admins check them out.

View solution in original post

hibaz1
5 of 21

Thank you Mikko for the clarification I doubted that there is something wrong with the situation ...

kinector
Community Guru
Mikko R Member Since: Dec 26, 2015
6 of 21

Wahiba A wrote:

Thank you Mikko for the clarification I doubted that there is something wrong with the situation ...

Your sixth sense will develop pretty fast, I'm thinking. Smiley Very Happy

Don't worry, keep going.

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
7 of 21

Wahiba: