🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » About the "connects" and the "bet" function.....
Page options
natacha-nl
Community Member

About the "connects" and the "bet" function... and other points

Hi there,

I have been a freelancer on Upwork for over 3 years now, and during all this time, I notice that the quality of the site is deteriorating more and more.

Fist of all, the fake offers posted by scammers several times a day and for months. It took a lot of effort to eradicate some of them, and the response from Upwork's customer service is always the same: click on the flag to report the scam attempts. There are less such posts now, but there is still some work to remove them all.

Then, freelancers who publish their services on the job offers page.  I'm so upset when I see this, it's another proof that Upwork doesn't apply any publication restriction, and that anyone can post anything and anywhere on the site, as long as nobody reports the publication.

And finally, the recent change with the new "bet" function when applying for a job. 

What the hell is that, but only a way for Upwork to make even more money on our backs.

Have you noticed that on certain offers, some freelancers are ready to bet 60 connects, sometimes even 80, maybe more !!!! 

That's insane, and the thought came to me that they can't be real freelancers, but that Upwork pays someone to make those bets just for us, the real freelancers, to bet more, and when we don't have "connects" anymore, we have to buy new ones.

Why do I think that fake profiles are those who do the huge bets ? Because no one is enough stupid to spend so much money just to apply for a job, without knowing if they will be hired or if they will have the chance to get the connects back if the client remembers to click on "refuse the proposal" (which leads to the refund of the connects to the freelancer).