🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Accepted an offer but I want out
Page options
6b31f972
Community Member

Accepted an offer but I want out

Hi, everyone, I hope you're all doing well. I'm new to Upwork and this is my first post on this forum.

Here's what happened: I completed trial work for a job and accepted an offer last week. The client said she'd get back to me when results are ready and went silent (with the contract open).

Then I got a job this week.

I can still take on work, but I am unable to take on that much work from that client. Just as I was going to tell her this in the middle of the night, I found that she updated the contract that afternoon and hired me for real.

I know it's really unprofessional to do this, and I understand if I get a terrible review. I apologized and told her I couldn't work for her anymore. She hasn't read it, and the deadline is next Friday. I'm afraid that she won't read it til almost Friday, so now I'm panicking. Should I close the contract myself or should I wait for her to close it?
ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Clients are able to close a contract at any time. For any reason.

Freelancers are able to close a contract at any time. For any reason.

If you want out, you may close the contract now. There is no way for the other party to prevent you from doing so.

If there is no money earned on the contract, then it won't show up on your profile page. No review will appear.

If you accepted a contract and then realized this is not the right project for you, then the best thing to do now is end it before earning any money at all. But don't make a habit of doing that. Zero-pay contracts affect JSS negatively.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

Clients are able to close a contract at any time. For any reason.

Freelancers are able to close a contract at any time. For any reason.