cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Account flagged saying I misrepresented my skills, experiences, and/or certifications.

Sagar S Member Since: Mar 10, 2015
1 of 8

This almost seems like a joke. My account got flagged yesterday saying I have misrepresented my skills as a PHP developer.

Now, I have been a PHP developer since day one when I joined Upwork (then Odesk) 4 years ago and I have worked on hunders of job using PHP. Did Upwork even check my profile and client history before flagging my account.

And I know the reason they might have flagged my account. There was one client I worked with and it was a very unpleasant expreince working with her and I left a 1 star review. And later on she kept nagging me about this and kept saying she was going to logde a complaint with Upwork. 

My question is did Upwork even fact check any of her claims before flagging my account. Just a glance at my work history would have been enough.

Now my profile is set to private and I am being warned that I should update my profile and if I don't my account will be suspended. 

Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
2 of 8

I'm sorry to learn about the limitation to your account, Sagar. I am unable to share more information about this for privacy reasons, which I hope you understand. I checked your account and can see that you already have an open ticket regarding this issue. I would recommend that you continue communicating with the team about this through your support ticket so that they can assist you further. 

-Avery
Untitled
3 of 8
I got the same response again. The upwork people didn't even properly read my comments on this matter. They just copied and pasted the same thing again saying I should update my profile.

What does upwork what me to update? Do they want me to stop working on PHP projects from now on, even though I have successfully completed 100+ PHP projects in the past, just because an angry client made a false accusation?