🐈 Community
sterrelonge

Active Contract but Unverified Payment Method-Advice Needed

Hello everyone, 

I am relatively new to Upwork and I have a pressing concern.

I started an hourly contract with a verified payment method. I worked 49:20 hours over a week and two weekends with no hassles. 

However this Monday when I looked at the contract on Upwork, it shows the client having an Active contract with me but an unverified payment method. All my previous 49:20 hours were worked with a verified payment method.

I contacted the client who informed me that his accounts team had to wait on financial statements for his cards in order to verify his payment method on Upwork. I said ok, and then worked an additional 3:50 hours in this state: Active contract, unverified payment method. 

However I had no peace in my mind working those 3:50 hours. I have no peace right now about this matter, so I decided to get advice from seasoned freelancers on this platform. 

I have some questions:

1. Am I covered under Upwork Hourly Protection if I continue to work for this client with the unverified payment method, but an Active contract?

2. How long does it take Upwork to pause a contract to let a freelancer know for sure not to continue working for a client?

3. Do you think that I will get paid for my 49:20 hours that were worked when the contract was completely good?

I thank you very much for your replies to my queries. 

7 REPLIES 7
petra_r

@Sophia T wrote:

1. Am I covered under Upwork Hourly Protection if I continue to work for this client with the unverified payment method, but an Active contract?

2. How long does it take Upwork to pause a contract to let a freelancer know for sure not to continue working for a client?

3. Do you think that I will get paid for my 49:20 hours that were worked when the contract was completely good?