🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Active Proposal - New to Upwork
Page options
destudiovanjanet
Community Member

Active Proposal - New to Upwork

I'm new to Upwork and I recently got my first active proposal and have been working on a project for my client (it isn't an hourly project).

Is there something the client must do on Upwork to show this project in the "my jobs" section or any type of movement they need to do on their end when this shows as an "active proposal" that I'm working on for them (and yes I have been in contact with this person)?

At what point do they pay me?

Does anyone request a certain % of the payment upfront or during their progress on a project?

32 REPLIES 32
petra_r
Community Member

Janet P wrote:

I'm new to Upwork and I recently got my first active proposal and have been working on a project for my client (it isn't an hourly project).

An "active proposal" is meaningless - it's just an interview, really,  and you certainly should not have started working!!

Janet P wrote:

Is there something the client must do on Upwork

Yes. Hire you

STOP working immediately, familiarise yourself with how the platform works, then proceed.

If it is a fixed-rate contract the client has to fund the project and send you an offer, which you can check and accept if the contract is funded in Escrow (to the agreed amount.)

Thank you, Petra, Your feedback helped me too

Hello Petra, I am a new at upwork and submitted a proposal and the client interviewed me(active proposal) in it he said he was interested to hire me but i have to sign an agreement and pay him security deposit which are to be refunded after completion of 40% work. I am confised and dont know how to reply

Harsh D wrote: