Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Address Issue

Highlighted
Maya B Member Since: Feb 5, 2019
1 of 5

Hello,

I'm a college student, so my permanent address is different than where I am living now. Is there any way to show that I am currently based in Boston? I'd prefer that my hometown not be displayed, but there doesn't seem to be any way around this.

I realize the importance of transparency, but I'm frustrated that there is no way for private information to be different than what is listed on my profile.

Additionally, I go by a name different than my legal name for all professional and creative work, but I am assuming there is no way to show that on my profile, since my name has to match my ID?

Thanks,

Mia

Community Leader
Matthew T Member Since: Nov 18, 2017
2 of 5

Mia S wrote:

Hello,

I'm a college student, so my permanent address is different than where I am living now. Is there any way to show that I am currently based in Boston? I'd prefer that my hometown not be displayed, but there doesn't seem to be any way around this.

I realize the importance of transparency, but I'm frustrated that there is no way for private information to be different than what is listed on my profile.

Additionally, I go by a name different than my legal name for all professional and creative work, but I am assuming there is no way to show that on my profile, since my name has to match my ID?

Thanks,

Mia

So you live somewhere other than at your address, and you're uncomfortable with anyone knowing the CITY even, and you also go by a name other than your real one. Isn't all of those identification rules supposed to be to protect everyone from false identities?

I certainly wouldn't be happy finding out that the person provided with access to secure areas and data of my business was using false everything. 

Not so much to worry about since UpWork doesn't display private personal info that could be used to do you harm.