🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Advice for a teacher wanting to become a ...
Page options
nlewis10
Community Member

Advice for a teacher wanting to become a freelance editor

Hello,

My name is Nicole Lewis and I spent the last 13 years in the education world working different jobs. I was a substitute English teacher, teaching assistant, tutor for Tutor.com, and recenlty a writing coach for a college Writing Center. I have editted numerous student papers and created some instructional materials for college classes that I taught, but I am not sure if they can count as work samples on my profile. Years ago, I did some volunteer writing and editing for a non-profit newsletter, but would copies of the newsletter be considered a work sample to show? 

If the answer is no to any of these, then what advice do you have for gaining work as a freelance editor without work samples? My goal is to transition into becoming more of a stay at home editor and writing consultant but I feel a bit lost on how to show clients I have the skills they need to create good content. Any advice is much appreciated. 

11 REPLIES 11
tlbp
Community Member

I'm not an editor, so take this advice as just my opinion, but I would focus on your credentials until you have some samples you can present. 

Since you are new to freelancing, be aware that sometimes students will hire an editor and really hope that you will write their paper. Don't assume that potential clients have bad intentions but pay close attention to how they describe the project before you agree to work with them. Once you agree to a contract, it can be difficult to back out. 

I'm sure some of the professional editors will weigh in with more specific advice. 

jmlaidlaw
Community Member

@ Nicole --