🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Advice needed on how to deal with a fraud
Page options
alina_tr
Community Member

Advice needed on how to deal with a fraud

Hi, Upwork community,

I am a freelancer managing a website development project for a client. 

Our freelance developer has completed the first milestone and then her account got suspended. We gave her time until Sunday to recover it, and if she couldn't, we would hire another freelancer because we are not willing to work outside of the platform. 

Today, her account has got permanently deleted and the payment for the 1st milestone was returned to the client's account. 

Now the deleted freelancer keeps sending us messages asking to pay her the refunded amount and offering to continue working on our project outside of Upwork. 

She is offering to send her money via Paypal and this is how I know for sure that she is a fraud. Her Upwork location says Ukraine, and it is impossible to receive money via Paypal in Ukraine, it is simply not working there. 

The thing is that we can not even report her profile because her profile page says "the profile is no longer available".

Also, for some reason, she still can send us messages in Upwork and she already took it to the level of "i have a diseased mother" and "didn't I create your site".

We don't know what to do and we do not want to pay or work outside of Upwork. But it seems impossible to give a refund back.

What should we do in this situation?

Thanks in advance.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi Alina,

Unfortunately, I won't be able to share information about why the freelancer's account was suspended. That said, Upwork team doesn't suspend accounts unless they violate our ToS and you can find more information about that in this help article.