🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Advice on dealing with change in scope of...
Page options
katherine_1
Community Member

Advice on dealing with change in scope of project

Good day everyone,

I'm feeling a little confused about how to proceed with a client and thought I'd ask for advice.

I've been working with a great client for a few months - doing research and writing for his business in a field that I have lots of experience and understanding of. I've completed 6 successful milestones and he is happy.

Recently he asked me to write on a topic I'm not super familiar with. I'm unsure, but I can research it and get a better understanding (albeit not expert level). Normally my work with him requires a bit of research, but with this I'd need to do much more.

I agreed and mentioned I'd charge slightly more (about 40% more) for this due to more time spent researching. It's a fixed price contract.

He said he'd be happy to pay but needed it to then be very in-depth and much longer than normal (almost 3 times longer than the length we originally agreed for my rate when we started). It feels like he thinks my rate is too high (it's really not) and wants to compensate with me doing even more work.

I'm not comfortable with this and I'd want to charge more for the length he wants (140% more) - not to mention the time spent researching on a topic I'm unsure of!

Part of me wants to decline altogether and not deal with the stress of it (although I'm not sure what to say as we've worked together so well). But the other part of me thinks I should ask him to pay a higher rate for the length he wants and see what happens.

I don't want to upset him and risk a bad rating, as my score has been good so far.

I'd appreciate some advice about what to say to him and how I should word it. Had anyone been in a similar situation?
34 REPLIES 34
lysis10
Community Member

You have two options: do what he says or tell him to kick rocks. Decide which one you wanna go with and do it.