cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice on dealing with change in scope of project

Katherine T Member Since: Oct 6, 2018
1 of 30
Good day everyone,

I'm feeling a little confused about how to proceed with a client and thought I'd ask for advice.

I've been working with a great client for a few months - doing research and writing for his business in a field that I have lots of experience and understanding of. I've completed 6 successful milestones and he is happy.

Recently he asked me to write on a topic I'm not super familiar with. I'm unsure, but I can research it and get a better understanding (albeit not expert level). Normally my work with him requires a bit of research, but with this I'd need to do much more.

I agreed and mentioned I'd charge slightly more (about 40% more) for this due to more time spent researching. It's a fixed price contract.

He said he'd be happy to pay but needed it to then be very in-depth and much longer than normal (almost 3 times longer than the length we originally agreed for my rate when we started). It feels like he thinks my rate is too high (it's really not) and wants to compensate with me doing even more work.

I'm not comfortable with this and I'd want to charge more for the length he wants (140% more) - not to mention the time spent researching on a topic I'm unsure of!

Part of me wants to decline altogether and not deal with the stress of it (although I'm not sure what to say as we've worked together so well). But the other part of me thinks I should ask him to pay a higher rate for the length he wants and see what happens.

I don't want to upset him and risk a bad rating, as my score has been good so far.

I'd appreciate some advice about what to say to him and how I should word it. Had anyone been in a similar situation?
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
2 of 30