🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Advice on how to proceed w/long-term contract...
Page options
7ba56d1a
Community Member

Advice on how to proceed w/long-term contract entailing work that's not standard

Hi all! I'm still relatively new to Upwork and could use some advice. You know how sometimes you enter a contract and things crop up that weren't discussed prior? That's where I'm at, with added elements that end up taking more time and energy (and in my eyes complicate unnecessarily).

As voice over artists, we typically get sent a message on a platform, and we deliver files corresponding to that order on platform. It's super simple compared to what's transpiring in this case.

The contract started and the client wanted them, their manager, and me to chat via whatsapp on what audio needs recording. I got out of that. I'm not putting an app on my phone, let alone with my phone number, even if my phone/wifi connection wasn't as bad as it is. So then they wanted me to correspond via Trello, which I've never used before. And they want me to log in to Dropbox to view scripts and deliver files into a specific folder. Yes. I still deliver a second time here to release money held in escrow for the milestone.

Aside from added logistics and tasks, the communication between all 3 of us is so inadequate. I'll be notified by the 'owner' that scripts are ready and find out they aren't proofread yet by the manager (or therefore ready) and would take SO long to read from in that state. I'm told a new document is in a "ready for audio - Mandy" folder is set to go, read from it, submit files, and that only document in the folder was not even supposed to be read from (or be in that folder, in my mind).

It's a time consuming disaster of a system. I've proposed to the owner to either email or  submit through Upwork files (not links), and I deliver through the milestone submit button.