🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » After using direct contract I got this messag...
Page options
mohamedmamdouh2
Community Member

After using direct contract I got this message " Financial limited account "

Hi there,

I hope you all are doing well.

I have been using Upwork for many years, and for a long time, it was my only source of income.

I have never had any issues before, and now when I upgraded myself and start to take big projects, I find myself in this situation?

I have a client who decided to work with me on every big and important project, and I decided to do the project through Upwork and introduced the platform to my client.

Now after receiving the first milestone, I got an email telling me that my account is restricted and asking me to provide documents + screenshots for my conversations with my client about this project.

I have uploaded and provided all the needed documents, and took many screenshots of our conversations and now waiting to see what will happen.

I have four questions:

1) Is this issue will be solved? 

2) Why did it happen?

3) Shall I stop using the direct contract with my clients? Because if each time this will happen I think It's not a good way to do business.

4) Shall I cancel the contract now to protect my client's money?

Looking forward to finding answers.

Best regards,

Mohamed

10 REPLIES 10
roberty1y
Community Member

It's against the terms of service to bring your own client and then work for them the same as you would work for someone you met through Upwork, i.e. providing feedback to each other after the contract. That would count as feedback manipulation.

It's through the direct contracts service, no feedbacks is required.

It should be only used as an escrow system.

I didn't bring my own client and asked him to choose me through posting a job, I brought my own client to use the " DIRECT CONTRACT" service that Upwork offers.

What was the amount? Did that put up a red flag?