cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: All of my project files are over 5MB, how do I upload them

Highlighted
George J Member Since: Jul 1, 2016
1 of 22

Hello I'm new to Upwork and am trying to complete my profile. I'm a motion graphics designer and most of my work are .mov files which are at least 150 mbs or larger. I have tried uploadeing these files from several different browsers and keep getting the error message

"Can't upload image

Highlighted
Vladimir G Moderator Member Since: Oct 31, 2014
2 of 22

Hi George,

You can't use the Vimeo link in your profile or include it in your Portfolio samples, which are limited to 5 mb each. You can include it in your proposals or in direct communication with prospective clients, as example of your previous work and skills.

Highlighted
Debbie K Member Since: Jul 19, 2016
3 of 22

I'm sorry, but is rather unfortunate for those of us who work on larger projects. 

Highlighted
Community Guru
Kathy T Member Since: Jul 17, 2015
4 of 22

That 5MB file size doesn't just apply to uploading portfolio pieces, it also applies to attaching samples to your proposal. Aside from videos and other such large sized files, that can also affect Microsoft Office files. Do a 9 slide presentation with animation in PowerPoint and it becomes larger then 5MB.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Douglas Michael M Member Since: May 22, 2015
5 of 22

With animation, video editing, and even data visualization being growth markets for @Upwork, and given the Enterprise recruiters' reliance on portfolios, perhaps it is time for the company to rethink its portfolio allocation, for video/motion graphics workers if no one else. Resolution sells, and compression does not meet the needs of many contractors. If I were king of Upwork, I would be building out infrastructure to meet market demands, not pinching megabytes.

Best to all,

Michael

Highlighted
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
6 of 22