cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Am I doing it right? (An urgent 3-question thread)

Cameron C Member Since: Mar 24, 2016
1 of 31

I'm a fairly new freelancer here at Upwork. I've only had one job so far and the way I work with my new job is kind of confusing.

I posted a proposal for an article writing job (I won't disclose the name because I might get in trouble and I like my job). My client asked me to sign a secrecy contract which prevents me from telling you guys about the job, all I can say is that it's article writing. It's a fixed price job at $20. At first, I thought it was a great deal but heres the thing:

"Is it normal to be paid $20 for 10 articles?" In my last job, I got paid $20 just by writing 8 with 1000 words max. But in fairness, he did state in his messages. But he also said that the average for the articles is 1500 words. However, it seems to that he's wrong. He's a nitpicky person about every detail so the article I made for him clocked in at 3400 words + HD pictures + a video he asked for. He wants the article to be great and 5 revisions had to be made (and he always refers to my work as "nice" and/or "good" that doesn't really help my self-esteem). I've spent more time revising it for him than I studied for my Midterms. So to make 9 more of these would probably suck the life out of me.

But that's the practical part of the problem.

"Is it normal that I'm working with him and it still says 'active candidacy'?" So does this mean I'm really not working for him yet? I've already finished 1/10 of the work I had to do and there's no milestone nor even a contract to make the work that I'm doing legit. I just want to make sure I'm gonna get paid. PS: I pass the work that I make in our messages.

The last question I want to ask is:

"Is it not allowed to ask for a raise? If not, may I ask my client for one?" This one is kind of self-explanatory.