🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » An impossible project
Page options
djames1958
Community Member

An impossible project

I'm a very experienced freelancer here on Upwork - having done over 150 jobs, many of them editing books. I just took on a project to edit a short book, as well as format it for ebook, and also produce the audio book, as well as design a cover (which I've done). I've had some very challenging projects in the past, but I now have one that is virtually impossible. The book of about 40,000 words is virtually incomprehensible. It is disjointed, very poorly written - just a total mess. I've done the first chapter and am in the second chapter and I think it is just a hopeless project. I bid on it as a fixed-price job - but as an editor - not to do a virtually complete rewrite of almost every other sentence.

I am tempted to go back to the client, who seems like a nice-enough guy - but as someone with a 98% rating here, I don't want to get a bad rap if he leaves a bad review because this project isn't working out.

Should I pull the plug or make the best of it and keep working? I'm just not sure.

I've dealt with many clients on a lot of issues - but I know this is a passion project for this guy.

Any insight would be appreciated.

11 REPLIES 11
petra_r
Community Member

David J wrote:

It is disjointed, very poorly written - just a total mess. I've done the first chapter and am in the second chapter and I think it is just a hopeless project

Did you not notice that when you went through the book before accepting the contract?

Are you top rated? If you are, you can use your top rated perk if you pull the plug and end up with poor feedback as a result.

Either way, let this be a reminder to always inspect material very closely before accepting a contract. I don't even give a firm price until I've done that.

prestonhunter
Community Member