🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Anti-money Laundering Compliance and KYC ...
Page options
ycjulia
Community Member

Anti-money Laundering Compliance and KYC check for clients

Hi,

I am a freelance accountant. The anti-money laundering regulation requires ID check before we take on any client (such as obtain a copy of passport, proof of residency, company registration documents, etc.). How does it work through Upwork? Can I ask clients to send me ID and KYC info and arrange online meetings? 

Many thanks in advance for your help. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Upwork is not an accounting site. It is a general freelancing site.

So as you can imagine, Upwork does not have specific provisions for such a situation. You may need to carve out a plan. This thread could be where you do that.

But to address your specific questions: Upwork has no rules prohibiting a freelancer from asking her client for ID such as passport or for KYC info.

Also, Upwork explicitly ALLOWS freelancers to arrange online meetings with their clients, using any tools or means of communication that they want to use. Upwork even provides many tools, such as built-in audio call, video conferencing, and built-in Zoom that freelancers may use to meet with clients AND prospective clients. Before being officially hired, freelancers and prospective clients communicate only using the Upwork platform. But once an Upwork contract is in place, there are zero restrictions on communication and meeting methods.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member

Upwork is not an accounting site. It is a general freelancing site.

So as you can imagine, Upwork does not have specific provisions for such a situation. You may need to carve out a plan. This thread could be where you do that.

But to address your specific questions: Upwork has no rules prohibiting a freelancer from asking her client for ID such as passport or for KYC info.