🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Any full-timers who do Upwork on the side...
Page options
zsummers
Community Member

Any full-timers who do Upwork on the side....

Hey everyone, 

I'm a graphic designer, who does freelance on the side, at night mostly and on weekends. I have received a few jobs on Upwork, and have had good luck recently. However, I'm curious how some of you manage your client's expections with revisions to a project. I always respond to my client vie the app, or even text, but when it comes to doing the actual work I do that at home. Meaning if my client sends me revisions at 9:00am, I will respond right away, but I can't get to that revision until I return home that afternoon. I try and be fully transparent about expectations, but I wonder if that's best.

13 REPLIES 13
kbadeau
Community Member

I only came to Upwork when I no longer had a full time job but I do tell clients things like "I have to finish something up for a client in NYC first," or I will accept a contract and reiterate that I can't start working on it until a certain time or date. Good clients get it. Bad clients you don't want anyway.

kbadeau
Community Member

PS I'm curious why your profile is private?

Anonymous-User
Not applicable

Profiles do not have to be public. Some people keep them off because they have other employment and they do not want their UW profile to show up on search engine results. 

Cairenn R wrote:

Profiles do not have to be public. Some people keep them off because they have other employment and they do not want their UW profile to show up on search engine results. 

I know they don't HAVE to be. But can clients still see them? I certainly wouldn't hire someone if I couldn't see their profile.

kbadeau
Community Member