🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Anyone else getting invited to jobs they're i...
Page options
bmhumphreys
Community Member

Anyone else getting invited to jobs they're in no way qualified for? How do you handle it?

I got an invitation to apply to a full-time web-designer job the other day, and rather than just toss it in the trash ('cause I'm a writer, not a web designer), I decided to respond, because the description of the project seemed like they would probably be needing writers anyway, and I thought I'd at least throw my hat in the ring and say, "Hey, if you're looking for writers, hit me up."  I mean it's basically a free contact without using connects, so why waste it, right?  

So I answered the obviously silly questions (for me) like "How many years of web-design experience do you have?" with equally ridiculous answers, like "I'm not a web designer.  I'm a writer, and again, I think you've sent me this invitation in error, so I'm sorry if you're wasting time by reading this..." etc. 

I didn't really expect much of it.  I thought of it kind of like when an offsides penalty gets called after the snap in a football game and the quarterback bombs it because it's basically a free play - and you never know, you could end up with a PI call and big huge money-making yardage.

Then today I got a request to chat with this client via e-mail (which he requested) and said "I am interested in hiring you."  Now, I've landed jobs by being cheeky in my responses to clients before, so I figured my plan might have worked,  but when I get the e-mail he is still talking about wanting me for a full-time web-design job.

His profile on UW seems solid, a lot of hires, nearly 5 stars out of 44 reviews and over 50k spent.  Still, something seems fishy to me.  I e-mailed back that I'm not interested in a full-time web-design job; we'll see what happens, but I wanted to post the situation here to see if anyone has any wise words for me on this?