Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Attempted Scams

kcarpa0216
Krystal C Member Since: Oct 5, 2016
1 of 7

Hello, 

I am new to UpWork and have tried very hard to get some jobs going on here. I was very excited today to find three invitations around the same time today and got really excited! Unfortunately during the "interviews" they asked me what bank I use and how often I would like direct deposits. 

I reported them and provided UpWork with screen shots. 

I am back to square one too. ugh...

I just wanted to pass this info along. Have a good weekend everyone!

niag
Community Guru
Nia G Member Since: May 3, 2016
2 of 7

Yeah, folks come across these scams often on Upwork. It's good that you reported them though. We hear of many who don't cut off communication at the point you did  and put themselves at risk. 

Don't be disheartened. The work will come soon enough! Welcome to Upwork!

mwiggenhorn
Community Guru
Mary W Member Since: Nov 10, 2014
3 of 7

If you are brand new, invitations you receive will more likely than not be scams.  Still with the job feed and sending proposals until you have some experience under your belt.

clark_tammara
Community Leader
Tammara C Member Since: Oct 14, 2016
4 of 7

Hi! I am very pleased o be here and am new to upwork and i do enjoy writing as much as i can. I have also received invitations three or four thus far; however during an interview on Google Hangouts i was asked when would i be able to open up a checking account? My first thought was to report this to upwork as soon as possible! Foe all other newcomers to this site be safe and watch out for scams!!

kat303
Community Guru
Kathy T Member Since: Jul 17, 2015
5 of 7