🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » B2C and VAT - this is really bad!
Page options
d8700a9d
Community Member

B2C and VAT - this is really bad!

As an europen registered freelancer, I am under obligation to charge VAT on all B2C transactions.

This is currently a problem here on Upwork.

Let say I provide a service to a client on Upwork for 100€. When the service ends, Upworks sends an invoice to the client on my behalf and it is only then I discover the client resides in the European Union and doesn't have a VAT ID. So I have to charge 23% VAT.

What happens next is this:

▶ Upwork takes 20% and I get 83.3€

▶ Since I can't charge 23% VAT on the 100€ like I normally would (outside of Upwork, the final value of the invoice for a 100€ service would be 123€), it means that it is now I who have to pay the VAT out of my own pocket. So, from the 100€ I need to take 23% off, which leaves me with 81.30€

▶ Summing both, out of 100€ I get 64.6€ (let's ignore for now that out of those that I keep, I will still have to pay other taxes).

I only makes sense that I should avoid these clients at all costs (pun intended), but there's really no way of doing it before getting access to the invoice (or asking the client about these details, which strikes me as a bit as a not very ellegant solution.)

Wouldn't it be a good idea for the freelancers to easily know, preferably in the application process, if they are dealing with a Business or a Final Consumer?

How do other european freelancers deal with this?

5 REPLIES 5
d8700a9d
Community Member

Ignoring all clients from Europe from now on it is, then.

VladimirG
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Micael,

Thanks for posting your concern in the Community. Following up on your calculation, to clarify on Upwork VAT charge is applied on the services Upwork provides you directly (service fee, purchasing Connects and Plus membership plan fee) and not on payments you receive for the work you provide to your clients.