annie_xu

BEWARE: SCAM Interview via Google hangout

Hello everyone, 

I think I have been scammed!

I'm new to Upwork and recently I started submitting proposals to jobs. Two of them replied my messages and one of them asked me to add him on Google Hangout for immediate interview so I did. He asked me three or four questions and I answered them (all by chat, no webcam) then I was told I would receive an email from their HR department about their decision. A few hours later or at the end of the day I did get an email from them and said that I got the job and I was asked to fill out an Employee Agreement. YES..I returned them the agreement with all my personal information ( name, social security number, address, etc.  no bank account information details though, however he asked me which bank do I use I told him Chase during the interview chat) 

On the next day, I got an email again from the HR department about the orientation program and told me to contatct this guy who has been chatting to me on Google hangout for the orientation. Because of time zone difference and stuff, I missed the first message that he sent me. Today an hour ago, I was able to chat with him and he again said" will be available in an hour" for orientation and started asking me loggin information for my bank for setting up payroll? (SUSPICIOUS, NO WAY! then I realized this is a scam T-T) 

I was trying to report this to Upwork but couldn't find a way to contact them or chat with the upwork team about this. Can someone advise me what to do now? And, I hope I'll be fine since I gave them all my personal information including SSN and signed the contract....  😕

6 REPLIES 6
lsulak

Sorry for such a horrible experience. I have also applied for this job but when i got all this request I blocked the so called client. These guys are the same spammers with the website from Dubai. 

You should call your bank and advice them of what happened so they can be on the lookout for anything suspicious.