annesophiel

Bad Review - Need Help

Hello,

I recently got my first contract that the employer and I agreed to. The contract said 30 mins of transcription with a price already set for the project (not per hour). I ended up spending 11h25 in the last two days working on the project. The employer said I did the work perfectly and wanted to do more business with me. The person ended up telling me that I have more files to do. Which I then said, "No problem, that means if I do 60 minutes, I will be paid doubled the price, correct?". The person then said that the 60 minutes were part of the contract (which the 60 minutes is indicated nowhere, it only says 30 minutes for the price set). I am new to Upwork and this is my first contract. It will be my first review and I am afraid I will get a bad reputation because of that which isn't my fault whatsoever. Anyone else experienced this before?

Thank you in advance!

Sincerely,

Anne-Sophie L.

8 REPLIES 8
sharonliu

I have not experienced this myself, but I think your ability to bargain with the client depends on your ability to find work elsewhere. If you can afford to insist on being paid separately, by all means do so.

tlsanders

Someone else had this exact experience with a transcription client a few weeks ago and wrote about it in the forums. It would be worth sharing details with a moderator so they can check into whether this is a recurring problem with a particular client.

martinceisel

Also, you can recover from a bad contract early on. I did. One of my first bad contracts dipped my JSS into the 70s. I'm back up to 90 now. It's like a hangover—the system just needs time to cycle out toxins.

kat303

You did 11 1/4 hours of work that was advertised as a 30 minute job??????  Was this a fixed rate contract? If that is what the contract says (fixed rate) , then that is what you do. 30 minutes. Anything above and beyond that constitues additional payment. Doing that is referred to as scope creep.