🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Bad experience
Page options
karinskold
Community Member

Bad experience

I just have to shake off some bad experiences..

Being asked to do free illustration samples again..And when telling me I can't do that client becomes offensive. The 4 other artists did without asking for payment so..Making it look as it's me being really stupid.

I told her I do this for a living..she told me she does too..and it goes on...

When you can explain that this is a rule here to not ask for free samples...she makes you feel it's her right.

I don't know, it seems it has become a rule here to ask for all sorts of mockups, samples, art, forms.... And its frustrating!

Is there not a sign or something when writing in info about the job that this is not allowed?

It becomes such frustration when having to take all sorts of offensive and silly messages from clients telling you are wrong to defend your own rights and work.

12 REPLIES 12
kinector
Community Member

Karin, I understand your frustration.

I'd advise you to just skip it. Don't worry about it. If people ask for freebies, you just say it is your policy not to consider such projects.

Technically, by Upwork's rules, no client is allowed to ask for free work, so you should report every such client. Of course, it is a complete waste of time for the freelancer, so the best way is to avoid all even meeting those kinds of clients in the first place.

This issue occurs when you work in the lower end of the market. So, the only permanent solution is to level up and start only offering something that is worth much more (your rate seems to be $12/h at the moment).

Cheap clients don't even try to hire expensive guys. Check out my profile for reference. Nobody asks me for freebies.

Thanks Mikko!

I will go and raise my hourly rate now.

Could not find your profile page to have a look...

jr-translation
Community Member

Karin S wrote:

I just have to shake off some bad experiences..