🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Be careful when working for this guy: *ed...
Page options
tyler_nguyen_dev
Community Member

Be careful when working for this guy: *edited*

Hi there,

I'm a freelancer, 

I just apply a Laravel job from that guy, he told me that they will offer me a deal, I just accepted his offer.

But he also ask me to receive payment via Paypal (not via Upwork)

I have done some tasks for him (he will set the estimation for each task and we just allow to log within his given estimation)

I'm ok with that, till yesterday, he cancelled the Upwork offer and seems not checking my message on Skype

Just want you guys to be careful with this scammer.

17 REPLIES 17
michael_skaggs
Community Member

Tien N wrote:

This is against Upwork's Terms of Service. You should have reported him.

I have done some tasks for him (he will set the estimation for each task and we just allow to log within his given estimation)

In agreeing to be paid in this manner, you have also violated the TOS.

Please let me know how to report a client, 

I couldn't see any report buttons in either messages or contracts page.

mtngigi
Community Member

Tien N wrote:

Hi there,

I'm a freelancer, 

I just apply a Laravel job from that guy, he told me that they will offer me a deal, I just accepted his offer.

I'm ok with that, till yesterday, he cancelled the Upwork offer and seems not checking my message on Skype

Just want you guys to be careful with this scammer.

As Michail has pointed out - accepting payment outside of Upwork would be considered scamming Upwork, and not something you should be "okay" with. Both you and the client are not using Upwork as it is intended to be used.

This is my first offer. I just want to log all of my log time into Upwork after catch 20 working hours.

But this guy just told me to send payment via Paypal, and he also cancelled the offer.

Now I can not log my time.

Please let me know what I can do now

Tien N wrote: