Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Being Harassed and Slandered by a former client

Highlighted
Community Leader
Sagar S Member Since: Jun 22, 2015
11 of 24

"Life is not fair, Get used to it"-- Bill Gates

This is a common factor in all business. Just forget it and move forward. 

Wish you great success here in Upwork

Thanks

Sagar

Highlighted
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
12 of 24

Zac, I have no idea of the background here but this isn't the first of your clients who ended up in a rage, is it?

Don't get me wrong, I am not victim blaming by any means, but you may need to work on your client-management and conflict-resolution skills.

Obviously you could try to take legal steps, but frankly unless you are made of money I don't think it would be a cost-effective way to spend your time.

Your response to the feedback, by the way, is about 10 times more damaging than the feedback itself. If I were hiring I might overlook the feedback, your response would be what would stop me from hiring you with 100% certainty.

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Zac G Member Since: Nov 27, 2016
13 of 24

@Melanie - I've disabled comments on my portfolio site (I honestly didn't even know it had that feature). As for my social media sites, I've put them all on that "Approval Only" setting, but thats incredibily annoying, I don't want to have to moderate my life like that

@Petra

If I have 4 bad contracts out of 120 I'm ok with those numbers. Petra, I respect your job history immensely but please respect that our fields are VERY different. I don't know a ton about translation but I'm assuming there's a right way to do it and a wrong way to do it, or at least the results of a job are fairly finite. The possibilities of a video/animation job are infinite, and incredibly subjective I could show one person a video I've done and they love it, and another would absolutely hate it.