🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Being asked for payment for tasks after they ...
Page options
a9526fd8
Community Member

Being asked for payment for tasks after they are released

Hi all 

I would like to query something, I am new to freelancing and took on 2 projects. I just want to know are employers allowed to make contact outside of Upwork to give projects and then pay after. Should this not be done via the Upwork platform? 

When completed they ask you to pay to have the funds released for payment. I don't understand how an employee for the moment doing the job is request to pay to have funds released. 

Anyone having this problem?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
luce-neidert
Community Member

These are scams. Clients are not allowed to make contact outside of Upwork and they are not allowed to propose to pay outside of Upwork.

Only start working when they have sent you a contract through Upwork.

You

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
luce-neidert
Community Member

These are scams. Clients are not allowed to make contact outside of Upwork and they are not allowed to propose to pay outside of Upwork.

Only start working when they have sent you a contract through Upwork.

You

Thank you Luce.

I have learned something today. I worked tirelessly for free and under pressure to complete the tasks. 

I will no longer be accepting work this way. 

Time wasted, if you ask me. Thank you for the feedback. 

Hi, Haldane,

So sorry that you are learning the hard way about scammers on Upwork! My advise to you, when you are looking for a job, is to look for jobs offers where at the bottom you see green stars. This is a quick way to see whether these people have hired and paid at least one freelancer.

Once you'll be more experimented, you can try working with people that have never hired anyone before, but until then beware of scammers, they love to scam newcomers.

wlyonsatl
Community Member

Haldane,