cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Benefits to Working with Enterprise Clients?

laramill
Lara M Member Since: Oct 1, 2019
1 of 32

Hi,

I have been working with an Enterprise client for several months and just hit $10K in earnings. I learned today that I will not be dropping to 5% commission to Upwork because they are Enterprise.  The customer service person gave me nebulous benefits to me like I can apply for other jobs with them. I'm highly specialized in what I do and am the only one doing the job, for this company which is under 200 people. Also, its justified because I didn't pay 20% on the first $500 I earned, which I earned in the first week.  Can anyone tell me why it's worth paying $1000s of more dollars a year to Upwork than I would pay on normal contracts?

petra_r
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
2 of 32

Lara M wrote:

Can anyone tell me why it's worth paying $1000s of more dollars a year to Upwork than I would pay on normal contracts?

If you don't think it's worth it, feel free to end the contract.

laramill
3 of 32

Petra, 

I am paying more to work with this client than I would normal clients and there are 0 benefits to me. Being snarky and telling me to end the contract doesn't address my question. What are the benefits to me to work with an Enterprise client outside of a normal client? 

petra_r
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
4 of 32

Lara wrote:

What are the benefits to me to work with an Enterprise client outside of a normal client? 

Well, if there are no benefits to you, don't do it. It really is as simple as that.

For me, personally, the hundreds of thousands of $ I made working with various Enterprise clients were the benefit.

For you, it may be something else, or there may be no benefit, in which case you may want to decide not to do it. That is a decision you need to take based on your own business-model.