cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best practices:: New proposal or adjust the original?

rickmay_pnw
Ace Contributor
Rick M Member Since: Mar 18, 2017
1 of 6

I'm still new to using Upwork and was wondering about best practices and how other freelancers handle this...

If you write a proposal and after multiple message exchanges with the potential client, the job scope has changed from when you first wrote the proposal...  Do you A) Withdraw your proposal and write a new one with all the new information laid out and clear from the start?  or B) Use the Propose New Terms button and just add the new information?

Part of me thinks that (A) is the better option just for the sake of it being cleaner and easier to follow.  But I'm not sure if this is a mistake because you are losing the "paper trail" of adjustments.  Not sure this even matters for a project that hasn't even begun.  (A) also has the potential of confusing the client, "Hey, I'm going to withdraw my previous proposal and send you a new one.  So go find it and respond to it."  Smiley Happy

How do you guys deal with this?

tlsanders
Community Guru
Tiffany S Member Since: Jan 15, 2016
2 of 6

There's no reason to do any of that. If you're already in the interviewing phase, just discuss the scope and new terms with the client and if he agrees, he can use those terms when creating the offer.

rickmay_pnw
Ace Contributor
3 of 6

@Tiffany S wrote:

There's no reason to do any of that. If you're already in the interviewing phase, just discuss the scope and new terms with the client and if he agrees, he can use those terms when creating the offer.

Hmm. Sounds like I'm completely naive about the process.  So, after the interview stage, the client creates an offer?     I clearly wasn't paying a whole lot of attention on the few projects I've done here.   But now that you bring it up, I do sorta remember that.