cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best virtual phone number set-up for a one-person shop?

Community Guru
Phyllis G Member Since: Sep 8, 2016
1 of 9

I'm an independent researcher/writer working from a home office, no landline. I like to encourage the general public to use my "office number" instead of my mobile number. I also have periodic need to conduct in-depth interviews by phone, so need outbound calling that doesn't link to my cell phone.

For a few years, Skype worked great. But after Microsoft acquired it, they discontinued e-mail notification for new voice messages, and eliminated the ability to customize your voice mail greeting. That makes it useless.

Am currently using Phone.com which works great for the inbound calls but requires subscribing to additional functionality in order to use it for outbound calling. That makes it more expensive (and a little irritating).

Anybody familiar with alternative solutions that deliver this specific (and pretty basic) package of functions?

Community Guru
Pandora H Member Since: May 11, 2010
2 of 9

This is a great question, not only because I love knowing what other people are using, I'm in the same "Skype" situation as the OP.

I've done some research, and it's a great cost-effective alternative (inbound and outbound anywhere in the US, for around $8 a month?) Awesome! But like the OP said, without the voicemail greeting and email notifications, it's just not enough.

I don't need inbound ALL the time, and for that matter, don't use outbound A LOT. Depends on what my clients need (Customer Service centric jobs, which are not my bread and butter service).

I can't give up Skype because I also use it to hook up with my clients, and their team members, so I'm already resigned to having to pay for 2 different tools. I'd prolly drop the inbound service though, if I can find something with more oomph.

Community Guru
Pandora H Member Since: May 11, 2010
3 of 9