cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beware of Google Hangout Scams

Highlighted
Charlotte B Member Since: Feb 2, 2017
1 of 42

I am new to Upwork so please know my story may not be the same for every case. I have been contacted by a couple of companies that reached out to me about jobs. All of the positions seemed like legit work-from-home positions, and as that is what I have been searching for I got excited. I was hesitant about some of the proposals so once they asked for my resume and wanted an immediate interview I didn't follow through. Well tonight I did and I am so glad Google and the Upwork community exist. As the interview went on I decided to do a check on the company and the fact that the interview was being held through Google Hangout messaging (not phone or video call). My search led me to find others who had the EXACT same interview (verbatim) that I was in the process of having. After this I went back in to the google hangout and asked the "hiring manager" if the company was real and if the position was real. I was simply told they are a reputable company. I went further and explained what I had found online and they again said the position and company were real. At this point I simply asked if there was a way that I could confirm this information myself. At that point the person interviewing me said "yes hold on." Five minutes went by and I heard nothing. At this point I had been searching more and found more proof that this was a scam. I went back into the hangout to say I would not like to continue the interview, only to find that I could no longer message the person I had been speaking with for the last hour. So while I am upset that I just wasted an hour and a little bummed that the position was in fact too good to be true, I am happy that this community and others on google shared their experiences so I wouldn't be scammed.