🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Big Loophole & Unfair For the Freelancer
Page options
seo_by_pro
Community Member

Big Loophole & Unfair For the Freelancer

Hi, 

I am a Top Rated Programmer on Upwork and enjoyed working here. The issue I recently had and it was really weird to be facing such a situation and losing hard-earned money when it was never your fault. 

Situation : 

I was hired by a client, whose issue I solved, I normally updated manual hours as I am very selective with people that I work with so I did not see any issues, I fixed the client's issues, and he was happy with the work, I updated the hours. after that, he ended the contract and left 5-star reviews. 

Now after a week or so , I got a notification from upwork that amount has been refunded. Upon checking with the upwork staff they said its been reversed since they were not able to charge the client. 

Now here's my situation, I completed the job and client had no problem with that , and rather was appreciative and left 5 stars for the job , but eventually the client left and is unreachable now , and the amount has been reversed. 

This is really a bad situation on part of the freelancer who has worked hard to provide valuable service and ends up losing all that money because the system was made such that the other person can get away with all the work, and freelancers are left with nothing. 

I would appreciate any help in this situation. 

Thanks,
Syed

9 REPLIES 9
martina_plaschka
Community Member

You should not use manual hours, only using the time tracker is payment-protected. 

0e1846cf
Community Member

Manual Hours always confuse me as well. The loyal UpWork buyers don't do this unethical practise but a few mal-intended new clients can misuse this service.  

petra_r
Community Member

Every time you add manual time you are told that there is no protection.
So I am not sure how it can come as a surprise to you.