🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Billing for Hourly rate:New Freelancer
Page options
quality_2021
Community Member

Billing for Hourly rate:New Freelancer

Hi Everyone!

I am a new freelancer and really seeking for some clarity on payments from this supportive community.

I am looking to work on HR projects but very confused on billings. If for example i take an offer that pays $10 an hour and the client wants me to source lets say 3 resumes exactly matching the role. Now, if i spend over 4 -5 hours and then find that the resume i am getting do not meet the exact requirement;In this case do i get paid for the time i spent, or nothing will be paid to me?

I recently had this case, where i couldnt get relevant profiles after spending 3-4 hours  and then declined the offer as i was not sure if i should ask to be paid?

Also most of the deliverables in HR projects are subjective, for example if i develop a handbook and client comes back saying they do not like it. Do i ask for money for the time spent or not?

I really look forward to your responses and thank you for your help.

11 REPLIES 11
roberty1y
Community Member

From the time the contract starts, all the time you spend working on that contract should be tracked and billed to the client. If you think you're not working as fast as you should be, you could bill for less time than you worked, by turning off the tracker. But that is up to you.

martina_plaschka
Community Member

All of these tasks should be done with hourly pay. I admit it's tricky to work in a field where the outcome is not guarateed, which might lead to unhappy clients. You need to manage expectations beforehand and explain the risks. But if you set this up to only get paid after a certain outcome is achieved, you will not earn a lot doing this work. 

Thank you so much Martina,

I believe it being my first project, i was hesitant how it should go and i just did not charge the client at all.