jimboa30

Brand New to Upwork...How Do I Attract Hirerers?

So I'm a very, VERY green paralegal, just getting started. I have a work history entirely unrelated to my education as a paralegal, and so far I've had trouble finding entry level work. I've submitted a few proposals on Upwork, typically bidding very low on pay.

My main question is how do I attract work if I have a blank slate as a profile? How do you get your first jobs on this site if you have no one to vouch for you and no work history on here? And suggestions and feedback is most welcome.
3 REPLIES 3
tlsanders

James, I know this isn't what you want to hear, but you really shouldn't be offering freelance paralegal services in a remote setting with no experience. 

I'm a former attorney and former paralegal instructor/board member of a paralegal education program, and this is an arena where you really need to have some experience. Depending on the type of work, I might hire you as a freelancer if you were local and I had the opportunity to work more directly with you on your first couple of projects, but generally the reason an attorney hires a freelance paralegal is that he or she doesn't have time to do those pieces of the work--they don't have time to train you, either.

I'm sorry to be so negative, but you really should be exploring every opportunity to get some live experience before offering your services in this way.

That aside, there are a few things you may want to consider:

- there are a lot of legal writing jobs on Upwork. That may be an area where you can get some related Upwork experience and ratings to help make you more marketable

- don't bid very low. It says "desperate and unsure of my value." That works (in a way) in some fields, but that's not what an attorney wants in someone he or she is handing off important work to.

jimboa30